2019 Award Recipients

Click images for bios

Wright Brothers Memorial Award

Nicolas Finazzo

(View Bio)

Executive Chairman

The Greater Miami Aviation Association Wright Brothers Memorial Award is the most prestigious of the GMAA’s awards. It is presented to individuals who have demonstrated innovation, vision, perseverance, and have transformed their industry segment. The WB award recognizes such revered leaders for their success in transforming their business and creating a lasting economic impact on our community.


Juan Trippe Award

 Rafael Alonso

(View Bio)

Past President; Airbus, Latin America and Caribbean

This award recognizes the significant contributions made by an individual to the development of international aviation. Juan Trippe started Pan American World Airways, Inc. in 1927. Under his leadership, Pan Am essentially started America’s commercial aviation advances overseas by pioneering international routes and operating global daily flights.

Glenn Curtiss Award

Derry Huff

(View Bio)

Vice President; Sales & Marketing

The Glenn Curtis Award, named for one of the GMAA founders and himself, an aviation and urban pioneer and innovator, recognizes extraordinary individuals whom have contributed to the air transport, MRO, business and private aviation sectors in the Americas. The recipient demonstrates innovation, extraordinary customer support and product quality, as well as in the field of education.

Edward V. Rickenbacker Award

John Evans

(View Bio)

Founder/CEO; Jetscape/Azorra

The Edward V. Rickenbacker Award is named for the former Chairman & CEO of Eastern Air Lines, who helped make South Florida a major aviation center and set his example of American work ethics. Rickenbacker was also a WWI flying ace who fought bravely for our country. This award recognizes individuals demonstrating courage, perseverance, work ethics and charitable work.


The Pioneer Award

Lt. Col. Harold Brown

Tuskegee Airmen

(View Bio)

This award is given to demonstrate deep appreciation to an individual who has dedicated their life to the aviation industry and is revered by his peers to be an outstanding role model. Recipients either achieved a unique pioneering status, or have demonstrated consistent integrity over many years.


Lifetime Achievement Award

konrad walter

Konrad J. Walter

CEO: Taking Aviation Forward; Managing Partner: TMSaero

(View Bio)

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual who has dedicated their entire professional life to the Aviation industry. The award recognizes a constant demonstration of perseverance, integrity, leadership and mentorship. The achiever is recognized by his peers as someone who has personally contributed his time and effort to promote and elevate the status of our industry.


Corporate Achievement Award

(About Regional One)

This award recognizes the contributions of a corporation or an association to the aviation industry and the South Florida Community.

A Big Thank You To This Year’s Sponsors!