2008  Gala Awards

Wright Brothers Memorial Award

Ben Quevedo
President, Aero Technologies

GMAA’s premiere award is presented each year to a Floridian whose substantial contribution to the aviation industry reflects favorably on the aviation community and the state of Florida.

Juan Trippe Award

Capt. David Barioni
President, TAM Airlines

This award recognizes the significant contributions made by an individual to the development of international aviation. Juan Trippe started Pan American World Airways, Inc. in 1927. Under his leadership, Pan Am essentially represented America’s commercial aviation policy overseas by pioneering international routes and operating global daily flights.

Glenn H. Curtiss Award

Sean Gallagan
Principal, George T. Baker Aviation School

The Glenn Curtiss Award, named for the aviation pioneer who, in 1912, organized the first flight school in Miami and later developed the cities of Miami Springs and Opa Locka. This award recognizes the contributions of an individual to improve the South Florida community through educational, governmental, civic or charitable work. Ms. Ursula Davidson, former Director and founder of Broward Community College’s Aviation Program, was selected to receive this award.